Hypoxi-madness

Image

A good few years ago now, when I was a new member of cabin crew and had only worked for a few flights, I learnt a very valuable lesson about turning my back on a passenger when alone.

Myself and my colleagues were in the galley, enjoying a cup of tea after completing a very busy meal serving to a few hundred passengers when a gentleman in his mid-fifties approached us looking rather unwell.

As I had been speaking with him prior to the meal serving, I decided maybe it be a little bit more comfortable if I asked what was wrong.

“The guy sitting beside me is a US Marshall” whispers the gentleman to us loudly. “He’s been tracking me for weeks.” “I don’t feel well so either you or him have drugged my tea”

“Sir, what is your name?” I ask. “Roy” replies the passenger.

So after trying to build the confidence of this rather paranoid passenger, he eventually divulges his medical history which involved an aneurism ten years ago and a medication of blood thinners ever since to prevent this happening again.

The passenger had had two glasses of red wine in the airport prior to boarding the plane and two glasses of red wine with his meal on board and then slipped asleep.

So for those of you that do not know, the combination of blood thinners and alcohol (another blood thinner) can result in a decreased level of oxygen in the blood and travelling to the brain, causing hypoxia, symptoms including paranoia, euphoria and just becoming a little bit crazy.

As we just about to start another serving of drinks and dinner the rest of the team asked me if I could manage this on my own whilst the served a busy cabin.

“Of course!!” I replied knowing that hypoxia is easily managed my giving the passenger oxygen and it will easily be reversed.  Also, eager to prove that I was a valuable member of my team!

So the crew continued on serving the drinks and meals to the hungry passengers whilst I spoke to Roy and tried to convince him to let me put an oxygen mask on him and relax.

“My name is not Roy, it’s John” shouted the passenger and you’re working with him!! Waving his arms in the general direction of the still sleeping passenger.

“Ok John, would you like to leave the oxygen and have a drink instead?” I ask

John/Roy asked for tea. So I turned to pull down a cup and saucer, placed a tea bag in the cup and turned back to John/Roy to find he had pulled down his trousers and underwear to his ankles, turned his back, bent over and mooning me!

 

One thought on “Hypoxi-madness

  1. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog iin the near future but I’m having a hard time
    selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask iss because yoiur llayout seems
    different then most blogs and I’m loooking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

